The Wheelchair Foundation of Barbados Inc
c/o Mr. E Anthony Archer - Secretary,
No. 59, 2nd. Avenue,
Pillersdorf Development,
Long Gap
St. Michael BB 12022,

 1246.572-4925 (home)  1246.233-5487 (cell)

Contact Form
Today is:

    Our History

    The founding Directors of the Wheelchair Foundation of Barbados Inc. were:
    Mr. Winston Skinner - President
    Mr. Basil Forbes - Vice President
    Mr. George Forte - Secretary
    Mr. Keith Yearwood - Public Relations Officer
    Ms. Sandra Mason – Director (now Her Excellency, The Most Honourable Dame Sandra Mason, FB, GCMG DA SC President of Barbados)
    Mr. Lemuel Rawlins - Director
    Mr. E. Anthony Archer – Director


    In accordance with the Constitution and Bye-Laws the Foundation has two classes of members; “ordinary member” and “honorary member”.

    The current President, of Barbados Her Excellency The Most Honourable Dame Sandra Mason FB GCMG DA SC resigned from the Foundation at the end of August, 2005 to take up an overseas posting as a Judge, while Mrs. Diana Edghill, Mr. Lionel Weekes and Mr. Carlyle Carter became Directors in that same month. Mr. Skinner was unable to continue as a Director because of illness and he resigned. Mr. Archer was appointed Secretary. Mr. Errol Best was appointed a Director in August, 2008 and Mrs. Marvia Trotman and Mr. Sydney Simmons were appointed Directors in late 2011.


    Unfortunately, Mr. Winston Skinner became ill and passed away in late 2011 and consequently, Mr. Forbes assumed the presidency until his death in July 2014. Mr. Lionel Weekes was subsequently elected as President in that same year, Mrs. Edghill Vice President, and Mrs. Trotman Treasurer of the Foundation. Then Madam Justice Sandra Mason and Mr. George Forte both accepted the Foundation’s invitation to become Honorary Members in January 2013, as did Mrs. Mary Forbes, wife of the former President Mr. Basil Forbes.


    In December 2013, in recognition of her contribution to the Foundation, and subsequent to the death of Mr. Forbes, Mrs. Mary Forbes became a Director of the Foundation.
    In 2017, Ms. Alix James, Ms. Sharon Parris, Mrs. Juanita Thorington-Powlett, Mr. Shone Gibbs, Mr. David Morgan and Mr. Randolph Hackett became Directors of the Foundation.